What’s Next After a Job Loss

Two months ago, my world changed. After a nearly decade long career, I was laid off. My career started as a job. It was an outlet for me to get away from my house for a few hours at a time. It was a way for me to earn spending money. It was not ever meant to be a career. But I loved it, so that’s what it became. In fact, I loved it so much that two years ago, we moved our entire family to Southern California so that I could gain new opportunities within the company. My job was my family. My security. My retirement. And in a two-week time frame, it was all gone. I had no plans outside of my little bubble to pursue anything further because, again, I loved my job.

So, here I am, two months later. Rethinking everything that I thought my life would be. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had some great highs! I’ve been able to travel and have adventures with my husband, kids, and friends. I’ve been able to do “mom things” that I couldn’t do while I had a wacky work schedule. I’ve hosted parties, worked out, and done my fair share of shopping. But with the highs, come lows. I’ve cried, been scared and stressed. I’ve redone my resume about a dozen times and written a new cover letter with each application. But I’ve still sometimes wondered if I’ll ever get back into the workforce. I’ve wondered, what’s next?

I don’t know what’s next for me. But I want to share some things that have helped me cope with trying to get back to work and waiting for my “what’s next.”

  • Rethink Your Opportunities. About a year ago, my husband and I made a retirement plan, which involved me staying in my job for 10 more years. Then I could comfortably retire. I was thrilled that we made a plan. But that plan has changed and now I need to rethink what my job opportunities will look like. For some, it may mean trying a new career or going back to school. Maybe you’ve wanted to take some time to travel or pick up a new craft. It will look different for everybody, but try to think of a new opportunity you can create for yourself.
  • Find Someone to Confide In. Having someone to share your fears, sadness, joy, and successes with can be a great outlet. For me, it’s been my husband, my friends, and my old co-workers. For others, it may be a therapist, a parent, or a life-long friend. It is healthy to talk about what you’re going through with others. They may not understand what you’re going through, but it is important to grieve and talking it through with someone will help that grieving process.
  • Network. Whether it’s going to lunch with someone in your desired career or meeting people in your same field, even connecting with like-minded professionals via social media, networking can not only help you meet people, but it may lead to your next career opportunity.
  • Take Time. If you can afford to take time to just let yourself figure things out, then do it. I used to imagine what it was like to be a stay-at-home mom, but I never had the time, money, or energy to find out. During my time, I’ve done my best to feed into my kids’ lives because I could never do it before now. It is not something that will suit me long-term, but for now, I’ve enjoyed being a smother-mother for them – even if they don’t love it!
  • Do Something for Your Physical Health Every Day. Go for a daily walk or try weight training. Drink your water or try some new vegetables. Whatever it is, your physical health is at the heart of your mental health. They need to be aligned for your body and mind to function properly.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on how you have coped with a lay off or what your “what’s next” looks like. I still don’t know what’s next for me. I decided to start writing again, spend more time with my kids, and create fun adventures here in California. I’m not sure exactly what that means or where it will take me, but for now, I will enjoy this new opportunity before my next job.

Cheers to Living Unexpectedly!

Robyn

Leave a comment